

REGION 8

WBCCI



July/August/ September 2007

wbcci.org

Highlights of the 50th International Rally in Perry, Georgia

Fifty two Airstreams went from Region 8 to Perry, GA, many in small caravans enjoying the best of Airstreaming. Region 8 members were there early and in significant numbers volunteering so the main event, the rally itself would come off without a hitch. One could not help but be proud.

It was endings and beginnings for several officers from Region 8. Jean Helker and Rhoda Launius both ended their terms of International Office as secretary and treasurer respectively. Norman Beu and Linda were elected to International Third Vice President while Betty Sullivan and Leonard were elected Region 8 President, June Ryan & Paul, 1st Vice President, and Fred Steurer and Dottie, 2nd Vice President.

The amendment to the constitution to allow Four Winds Motorhomes to be purchased by members preferring motorhomes was defeated 60 to 40 percent. President Shafer stated he accepted the defeat of the amendment but this did not solve the problem of the loss of motorhome models for members who prefer this mode of transportation.

2007 Year of Celebrations

In April members of WBCCI traveled to Bull Shoals State Park, Arkansas to place a plaque inthe Bull Shoals State Park Visitors Center commemorating the first rally held 50 years ago. Many from Region 8 were on hand for the unveiling and hanging of the plaque.



Region 8 Celebrates 40th Anniversary Year

At Council Bluffs, Iowa, two charter members, Benny and Inola Stewart of Greater Wichita Kansas Unit and Chuck and Doris Jean Cabalka of the Iowa Unit helped region members celebrate by cutting and serving cake. Region past presidents attending included: Charles and Nadine Kennedy, Robert and Fran Olson, Don and Shirley Sutton, and Darrell and Sharon Waters.



July 3, 1947-2007

Charlie and Nadine Kennedy celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary while at Perry, GA surrounded by many friends. Cake and ice cream were served.



Fall Installation Schedule

North Iowa	June Ryan
Greater Ozarks	Fred Steurer
Greater St. Louis	Fred Steurer
Iowa	Betty Sullivan
Nebraska	June Ryan
Greater Wichita	Betty Sullivan
Kansas City MO	June Ryan
Missouri Delta	Fred Steurer

Bulletin Board Winners

The Bulletin Board Contest is one of the oldest and most prestigious of the contests at the International Rally. All eight units in the Region brought bulletin boards which is commendable. Three units are to be congratulated for winning prizes this year. North Iowa won 1st place in Originality with trophy, Rosalie Macumber; President. Kansas City MO unit won Honorable Mention, Delores Crain; President, and a Special Award went to Nebraska, Don Bowerman; President.

Game Contest Winners at Perry, GA

Youth Art	Christopher Cummings, IA 2nd
Golf	Ray Wininger, IA 2nd
Quilting	Janice Cummings, IA 2nd
Youth Pottery	Alyson Cummings, IA 2nd
Photo Print	Charles Calbalka, IA 3rd
Photo Print	Charles Calbalka, IA 1st
Photo Print	Charles Calbalka, IA 2nd
Manipulation	Colette Krupco, Gr Wichita 3rd
Art	Dottie Steurer, Gr St Louis, 3rd
Dominoes	Dottie Steurer, Gr St Louis, Trophy
Crochet	Dottie Steurer, Gr St Louis, 2nd
Handwork	Dottie Steurer, Gr St Louis 3rd
Quilting	Nadine Kennedy, KC MO, 2nd
Holeyboard	Mike Allen, MO Gr Ozarks, 2nd
Horseshoes	Junior Shoemake, MO Delta, Trophy

Region 8 Officers

President Betty Sullivan—316-655-4702 basullivan@prodigy.net

1st VP June Ryan—641-455-9444 ryan.j.p@juno.com

2nd VP Fred Steurer– 314-853-6229 steurerf@swbell.net

Region 8 in Abilene, KS, April 30-May 4, 08

Live Well – Love Much – Laugh Often

Betty Sullivan